Awards for Historical Fiction

Awards for Historical Fiction:

Some of the prize winners for YA in general include historical fiction. The appendix for Historical Fiction For Teens: A Genre Guide includes a list of recent award winners.

image via
Scott O’Dell award

There are two awards specifically for historical fiction for teens:
The Scott O’Dell Award, begun in 1982, recognizes excellence in historical fiction published for children or young adults.  In addition to listing the winners by year, the site also provides a listing of titles by historical period. The 2012 winner is Dead End in Norvelt, by Jack Gantos (Farrar Strauss & Giroux), set in the summer of 1962.

In Canada, the Geoffrey Bilson Award is a recognition of historical fiction published by a Canadian author.


Leave a comment

Filed under Reference

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s